Uncategorized

To Whom it May Concern

Dear Design Build,

Six months ago, I was determined not to have a Friday class and definitely not a 3 hour Friday morning on North Campus class. As you can see now, I did not hold myself very accountable to that determination. Now, I would not hesitate to click that sign up button.

I remember the first day walking into the classroom wondering if I made the right decision. I knew nobody and other people seem to know each other. Of course, I remembered nobody’s name from the first day. The only thing I did remember was that I was the only freshman in the class. Even in the beginning of this month, I was nervous that we would get along since we did not even know everyone’s names. Now looking back, that worry was unnecessary. Now I know all your names: Courtney, Ethan, Fiona, Hana, Jake, Jarbed, Jessica, Joey, Kathleen, Kingsli, Kristen, Lauren, Lianne, Livvy, Marg, Maya, Rachel, Sarah, Siena, Sonya, Teggo, Will, Zoeyy, Lady and Lisa.

I love hearing about the everyone’s life story, experiences and feelings. Every time I wish that I met all of you earlier. I love hearing all your great opinions and plans, talking about the universe, poop, our house and complaining about everything that hurts. Being the youngest in the class, everyone was a role model to me. I had so much to learn from all these wonderful and thoughtful people.

This month turned out to be one of the best experiences of my life. It was the first time I built a house, the first time I wanted to be friends with everyone in the class, the first time I went canoeing, the first time I woke up at 6:30am six out of seven days of the week for a month, the first time I felt like I was exactly where I wanted to be, the first time getting to know people so well so quickly, the first time being sore every day and still pushing through, the first time….

Words cannot express the experiences and feelings that I had this month.

Thank you for taking care of me. Thank you for staying up late at night with me. Thank you for encouraging me when I’m down. Thank you for giving me a hug whenever I need it. Thank you for giving me piggy back rides. Thank you for massaging my sore back. Thank you for accepting who I am. Thank you for listening to me ramble. Thank you for taking part of my little jokes. Thank you for baring with me when I messed up all the zip ties. Thank you for accepting that I fall asleep every car ride. Thank you for having my back all the time. Thank you for building a house with me. Thank you for just being you. Thank you Joe for making this experience possible and teaching us everything!

This month we experienced friendship, love, teamwork, laughter, tears and so much more. This month we experienced being a part of a big family.

We all struggle with the fears of the future and problems the past. We all worry about judgements from others and not being good enough for ourselves. We all want to be the best we can be as soon as possible. The most important thing is we are all here for each other.

I hope you all had as much fun as I have and got as much out of it as I have. I’m not the very best at expressing my feelings but you all are the best and I want to hang out with everyone. I hope this experience does not limit us to just this month. I will always have your back whenever you need me. Next time any of you want to build a house, I’ll be there, you know where to find me!

Finally, WE DID IT! WE BUILT A HOUSE!

Love,

Your little freshman

Wendy

Leave a Reply

